Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC)

Blog > Software Quality Assurance

Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC)

Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) can be expressed as a process used to design, develop and test software. SDCL is a process that produces software with the highest quality and lowest cost in the shortest time possible. SDLC consists of a plan that describes how the software will be developed, maintained, and improved for creating high-quality software. To produce high-quality software, the software must be completed in time and cost that meets customer requirements.

SDLC is also standardized as “ISO/IEC 12207:2007 Systems and software engineering — Software life cycle processes”. This International Standard establishes a common framework for software life cycle processes, with well defined terminology, that can be referenced by the software industry. It contains processes, activities, and tasks that are to be applied during the obtaining of a software product or service and during the supply, development, operation, maintenance and disposal of software products. This standard does not require the use of any particular life cycle model. However, it does require that each project define a suitable life cycle model. The life cycle model is comprised of a sequence of stages that may overlap and/or iterate, as appropriate for the project's scope, magnitude, complexity, changing needs and opportunities. Furthermore, this International Standard does not require the use of any particular set of stages. An example set of stages for the life cycle of a system includes: concept, development, production, utilization, support and retirement. An example set of stages for the life cycle of a software product is development, operation and maintenance. Various types or classes of life cycle models have been described. Examples of these types are known by names such as waterfall model, agile model, iterative model, v-shaped model, big bang model and spiral model.

SDLC achieves lowering the cost of software development while simultaneously improving quality and shortening production time by following a plan that removes the typical problems of software development projects. That plan starts by evaluating existing systems for deficiencies. Then, it defines the requirements of the new system and creates the software through the stages of analysis, planning, design, development, testing, and deployment. It’s also important to know that there is a strong focus on the testing phase. To strong focus on the testing phase is important. As the SDLC is a repetitive methodology, better code quality is obtained at every cycle. The organizations that make efforts on testing can save a lot of rework, time, and money.

An example of different stages of the Software Development Life Cycle is given as follow:


Following the best stages of SDLC given below ensures the process works in a smooth, efficient, and productive way.

  1. Identify the Current Problems: What are the current problems?
  2. Plan: What do we want?
  3. Design: How will we get what we want?
  4. Build: Let’s create what we want.
  5. Code test: Did we get what we want?
  6. Software Deployment: Let’s start using what we got.



1. ISO/IEC FDIS 12207:2007 Systems and software engineering — Software life cycle processes